Martin O'Neill Signature Series Bodhrán


Martin O
Martin O'Neill Bodhran Logo
completely balanced

The MONss

The MON 'Signature Series' bodhrán is the result of a five-year collaboration of Martin O'Neill and bodhrán maker Christian Hedwitschak.

Martin's playing style can be described as very melodic and 'perfect in tune'. The drum Martin plays must have a huge spectrum of sound, yet be evenly present across all frequency ranges.

In order to play the drum with as much tuning stability as possible and to play it evenly, Martin turns the drum over and over again while playing. Accordingly, the heart of the MON signature series bodhrán is an extremely homogeneously selected DRAGONSkinspicy without a spine.

After a very detailed development phase, numerous studio tests, frequency analyses and a lot of practical experience, the final MONss model was created.

Also available as a discounted bundle with case and  tippers designed by Martin O'Neill.

On this page, Martin tells us all about his Martin O'Neill Signature Series - the MONss.

Martin O'Neill about his Signature Series:

A one stop shop

The Sound

"I wanted a drum that sounded completely balanced across the frequency range and responsive whether tuned low or high. 

As my playing is a hybrid of ‘bottom end’ and ‘top end’ style, I wanted something that was a ‘one stop shop’. It’s important to have a drum that can respond musically to whatever is required, especially for studio work. Over the last 20 years or so, I’ve played all different sizes of bodhráns but in the past few years I seem to be most comfortable on the smaller frame. 

My style of playing lends itself towards having a clear tone and few harmonics. The tape around the rim, which has been popular with drum makers for several years now, helps control unwanted overtones/harmonics. However, to my ears, with the smaller frame you get much more of the fundamental frequency and it is very precise. This is extremely useful when playing bass lines etc. but also in an ensemble setting where it takes up less of the spectrum."

Martin O
Martin O
Consistency all across

The Skin

"We use the ‘DRAGONSkinSpicy’ to achieve the sound I was looking for. The skins chosen for this drum reflect my own playing preference. I apply a lot of pressure to the skin when playing and therefore turn the drum constantly to prevent excessive wear on one area and to keep the tuning even. For this reason, I prefer the skin to be consistent all over and without the thicker part from the spine/backbone that can be quite common on bodhráns.

When deciding on the finished look of this bodhrán, I wanted something that was understated and also reflected my own personality. We settled on a sunburst finish, from grey to black, which really draws you in to the concave shape of the frame. Rather than continuing this finish to the inside, we felt that the natural beech interior complemented this and worked well together."

Clarity and definition

The Design

"I also wanted this to be lightweight and comfortable to play. We decided to go with a concave frame and use the new compressor tuning system. The concave frame not only helps stabilize the drum, it keeps it light. It also greatly enhances the aesthetic of the drum, which is no bad thing. With the black nylon ribbon around the frame I get the right amount of friction whilst still able to turn the drum whilst playing.

The compressor tuning system developed by Christian and Rolf Wagels, with support from Jim Higgins, helps to achieve a balanced frequency response in the lower register and is especially useful both in the studio and on stage. Furthermore, it provides the clarity and definition I always associated with the smaller frame on a larger drum. It also makes for a more comfortable playing experience and with the angle of the rim you can bend notes with ease.

In 2018 we added the IsolatHED technology which provides an even more precise tone."

Martin O
Martin O

Clear acoustics

The Compressor Tuning System

In the years 2010/2011 we developed the so-called compressor tuning system in close cooperation with Christian Hedwitschak. This is a relatively high, funnel shaped tuning ring which influences the overtones and the overall frequencies of the bodhrán in a positive way.

The drums fitted with the compressor rim give a defined and dry sound which on the one hand makes recording and mixing easier and on the other hand allows the drum to cut through very well acoustically without being loud.

The entire frame construction of the MONss is extremely elaborate and well thought-out. For a good insight, please click on the picture.

The Optimal sound
isolatHED logo

With the isolatHED technology all contact points of the tuning screws are decoupled acoustically. This means the outer frame, which is in contact with the player’s body, holds the drum skin, and supports all components of the tuning system and the tuning rim, which takes the sound off the drum skin like a pickup or a bridge, are totally separeted.
As a result, the brilliance of sound is significantly improved, and the frequency spectrum becomes much more homogeneous. 

Martin O

“I’ve worked with Christian giving feedback on the different drums and carried out studio tests comparing the different sounds. Most importantly for me is the ‘road test’, putting the drums through their paces night after nig. When it came to designing this signature line, I knew exactly what I was looking for in one drum particularly after having had the opportunity to test out and give feedback on all of these drums.But achieving what I wanted was no small feat.

€ 550,00

Netto: € 462,18
Incl. 19 % TAX plus shipping

  • Martin O'Neill signature series bodhrán
  • 35cm Durchmesser (ca.14“)
  • 16cm Rahmentiefe (ca. 6“)
  • Dragon Skin Spicy
  • compressor tuning system
  • IsolatHED technology
  • Concave Frame
  • tool-less tuning system
Date available: 31.03.2023
Pre-order now - please get in touch

€ 663,00

Netto: € 557,14
Incl. 19 % TAX plus shipping

  • MONss incl. extras - save 15 €
  • + choice of MONster tipper
  • + HEDcase 35
  • Dragon Skin Spicy
  • compressor tuning system
  • IsolatHED technology
  • Concave Frame
  • tool-less tuning system
Date available: 31.03.2023
Pre-order now - please get in touch
Due to EU regulations, we need to charge the VAT of the country of your delivery address. If you are outside the EU, you pay the price without VAT. To see the right prices for your country, please choose your country of delivery here! If you want to change your country of delivery, you can do so later in the checkout process. If you do not choose a country here, you see the prices for Germany and the prices at checkout may differ if the country of delivery is not Germany. Orders to Northern Ireland, please use Northern Ireland as your country at checkout. Do not use UK. Thank you!

*for delivery within Germany, information in business days. Delivery times and information about delivery times calculation to other countries, please see here.

Outside the EU?

If you are outside the EU, you pay the price without German VAT, it’s price marked as “netto” in the shop.
VAT will be deducted, once you have chosen the acountry outside the EU for delivery when entering the site or when finishing your order at the checkout.

Contact

bodhran-info
Dr. Rolf Wagels
An der Kapelle 10
31311 Uetze
Germany

Tel.: +49-5175-9569909
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Payment Methods

Zahlungsarten

the Green Web Foundation

This website is hosted Green - checked by thegreenwebfoundation.org

Initiative: Fairness im Handel

Mitglied der Initiative "Fairness im Handel".
Informationen zur Initiative.

Our company collects reviews via the independent service provider SHOPVOTE. SHOPVOTE uses automatic and manual measures to verify reviews.
Information on the authenticity of customer reviews on SHOPVOTE can be found here.

Logo Bodhranweekend

28.-30.10.2022 
Niamh Fennell als dritte Lehrerin, Konzert, Werkstattbesuch bei Stevie Moises und Q&A mit Christian Hedwitschak, Stevie Moises und allen Lehrer:innen! Die BodhranWeekends sind Treffpunkt für Bodhranspieler aller Spielstärken und bieten qualifizierten Unterricht für alle Spielstufen.

Martin O'Neill Signature Serie Bodhrán


Martin O
Martin O'Neill Bodhran Logo
völlig ausgewogen

Die MONss

Die MON 'Signature Series' Bodhrán ist das Ergebnis einer fünfjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bodhránbauer Christian Hedwitschak.

Martins Spielstil lässt sich als sehr melodiös und "perfect in tune" beschreiben. Die Trommel, die Martin spielt, muss ein riesiges Klangspektrum haben, jedoch gleichmäßig präsent über alle Frequenzbereiche.

Um die Trommel möglichst stimmstabil zu spielen und gleichmäßig zu bespielen dreht Martin die Trommel immer wieder während des Spielens. Dementsprechend ist das Herzstück der MON signature series Bodhrán ein extrem homogen ausgewähltes DRAGONSkinspicy ohne Wirbelsäule.

Nach einer sehr ins Detail gehenden Entwicklungsphase, zahlreichen Studiotests, Frequenzanalysen und jeder Menge Praxiserfahrung entstand das endgültige MONss Modell.

Auch als vergünstigtes Bundle mit Tasche und von Martin O'Neill designeten Tippern erhältlich.

Auf dieser Seite erklärt uns Martin alles über seine Martin O'Neill Signature Serie - die MONss.

Martin O'Neill über seine Signature Serie:

Alles aus einer Hand

Der Sound

"Ich wollte eine Trommel, die über den gesamten Frequenzbereich völlig ausgewogen klingt und sowohl in den tiefen als auch in den hohen Lagen gut anspricht. 

Da mein Spiel eine Mischung aus Bottom-End- und Top-End-Stil ist, wollte ich etwas, das alles aus einer Hand bietet. Es ist wichtig, eine Trommel zu haben, die musikalisch auf alles reagieren kann, was man braucht, besonders für die Studioarbeit. In den letzten 20 Jahren habe ich alle möglichen Größen von Bodhráns gespielt, aber in den letzten Jahren fühle ich mich mit den kleineren Rahmen am wohlsten.

Mein Spielstil zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass ich einen klaren Ton und weniger Obertöne habe. Das Tape um den Rand, das seit einigen Jahren bei Trommelbauern beliebt ist, hilft, unerwünschte Obertöne/Harmonien zu kontrollieren. Für mich bekommt man mit dem kleineren Rahmen jedoch viel mehr von der Grundfrequenz mit und der Ton ist sehr präzise. Das ist extrem nützlich, wenn man Basslinien usw. spielt, aber auch in einer Ensemble-Situation, wo man weniger vom Spektrum beansprucht."

Martin O
Martin O
Ganz gleichmäßig

Das Fell

"Wir verwenden das 'DRAGONSkinSpicy', um den Sound zu erreichen, den ich suche. Die Felle, die für diese Trommel gewählt werden, spiegeln meine eigenen Spielvorlieben wider. Ich übe beim Spielen viel Druck auf das Fell aus und drehe die Trommel daher ständig, um eine übermäßige Abnutzung an einer Stelle zu vermeiden und die Stimmung gleichmäßig zu halten. Aus diesem Grund ziehe ich es vor, dass das Fell überall gleichmäßig ist und nicht wie bei Bodhráns üblich einen dickeren Teil des Rückgrats aufweist.

Als ich mich für das fertige Design dieser Bodhrán entschied, wollte ich etwas, das unaufdringlich ist und gleichzeitig meine eigene Persönlichkeit widerspiegelt. Wir entschieden uns für eine Sunburst-Lackierung, die von grau bis schwarz reicht und die konkave Form des Rahmens besonders gut zur Geltung bringt. Anstatt dieses Finish auf der inneren Seite fortzusetzen, waren wir der Meinung, dass die Innenseite aus natürlicher Buche dies ergänzt und gut zusammenpasst."

Klarheit und Definition

Das Design

"Außerdem wollte ich, dass sie leicht und bequem zu spielen ist. Wir entschieden uns für einen konkaven Rahmen und das neue Kompressor-Stimmungssystem. Der konkave Rahmen hilft nicht nur, die Trommel zu stabilisieren, sondern macht sie auch leichter zu halten. Er wertet auch die Ästhetik der Trommel erheblich auf, was keine schlechte Sache ist. Mit dem schwarzen Nylonband um den Rahmen erhalte ich die richtige Menge an Reibung, während ich die Trommel beim Spielen noch drehen kann.

Das kürzlich von Christian und Rolf Wagels mit Unterstützung von Jim Higgins entwickelte Kompressor-Stimmsystem verhilft zu einem ausgewogenen Frequenzgang im unteren Bereich und ist sowohl im Studio als auch auf der Bühne besonders nützlich. Außerdem bietet es die Klarheit und Definition, die ich immer mit dem kleineren Rahmen auf einer größeren Trommel assoziiert habe. Es sorgt auch für ein komfortableres Spielerlebnis und mit dem Neigungswinkel des Rahmens kann man Noten mit Leichtigkeit formen.

Seit 2018 ist die MONss auch mit der IsolatHED Technologie ausgestattet, was für einen noch präziseren Ton sorgt."

Martin O
Martin O

Klarer Sound

Das Kompressorstimmsystem

Das Kompressorstimmsystem wurde in den Jahren 2010/2011 in enger Zusammenarbeit von Christian Hedwitschak und mir entwickelt. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen relativ hohen, trichterförmig gearbeiteten Fellauflagerahmen, der das Obertonverhalten und damit das komplette Frequenzbild der Bodhrán entscheidend beeinflusst.

Diese Trommeln zeichnen sich durch ihren sehr definierten und trockenen Klang aus, der sich zum einen sehr gut abnehmen und mischen lässt, sich zum anderen akustisch sehr gut durchsetzt ohne dabei laut oder aufdringlich zu wirken.

Die gesamte Rahmenkonstruktion der MONss ist extrem aufwändig und durchdacht. Für einen guten Einblick bitte auf das Bild klicken.

Optimaler Klang
isolatHED logo

Bei der neuen isolatHED Technologie ist es gelungen, auch die Auflagepunkte der Stimmschrauben akustisch zu entkoppeln. Somit sind Außenrahmen, der in Kontakt mit dem Spielerkörper steht, das Trommelfell hält und alle Komponenten des Stimmsystems aufnimmt und Stimmrahmen, der wie ein Tonabnehmer oder Steg den Ton am Trommelfell abgreift, voneinander getrennt. 
Das Ergebnis: eine deutliche Verbesserung in Brillanz und Frequenzhomogenität

Martin O

“I’ve worked with Christian giving feedback on the different drums and carried out studio tests comparing the different sounds. Most importantly for me is the ‘road test’, putting the drums through their paces night after nig. When it came to designing this signature line, I knew exactly what I was looking for in one drum particularly after having had the opportunity to test out and give feedback on all of these drums. But achieving what I wanted was no small feat.



€ 550,00

Netto: € 462,18
inkl. 19 % MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

  • Martin O'Neill signature series bodhrán
  • 35cm Durchmesser (ca.14“)
  • 16cm Rahmentiefe (ca. 6“)
  • Dragon Skin Spicy
  • Kompressorstimmsystem
  • IsolatHED Techonlogie
  • Konkaver Rahmen
  • werkzeugloses Stimmsystem
Datum des Eingangs: 20.10.2022
Jetzt schon vorbestellen

€ 663,00

Netto: € 557,14
inkl. 19 % MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

  • MONss inkl. Zubehör - 15€ sparen
  • + MONster Tipper nach Wahl
  • + HEDcase 35
  • Dragon Skin Spicy
  • Kompressorstimmsystem
  • IsolatHED Techonlogie
  • Konkaver Rahmen
  • werkzeugloses Stimmsystem
Datum des Eingangs: 20.10.2022
Jetzt schon vorbestellen

*Gilt für Lieferungen nach Deutschland, Angaben in Geschäftstagen. Lieferzeiten für andere Länder und Informationen zur Berechnung des Liefertermins siehe hier.

Nicht in der EU?

Wenn die Sendung nicht innerhalb der EU ausgeliefert wird, zahlen Sie den Preis ohne deutsche Mehrwertsteuer, der Preis ist im Shop als "netto" gekennzeichnet.
Die Mehrwertsteuer wird automatisch abgezogen, wenn Sie beim Betreten der Website oder beim Abschluss Ihrer Bestellung an der Kasse ein Lieferland außerhalb der EU ausgewählt haben.

Kontakt

bodhran-info
Dr. Rolf Wagels
An der Kapelle 10
31311 Uetze
Deutschland

Tel.: +49-5175-9569909
E-Mail: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein.

Zahlungsarten

Zahlungsarten

This website is hosted Green - checked by thegreenwebfoundation.org

Initiative: Fairness im Handel

Mitglied der Initiative "Fairness im Handel".
Informationen zur Initiative.

 

Unser Unternehmen sammelt über den unabhängigen Dienstleister SHOPVOTE Bewertungen. SHOPVOTE setzt automatische und manuelle Maßnahmen ein, um Bewertungen zu verifizieren.
Informationen zur Echtheit von Kundenbewertungen auf SHOPVOTE finden Sie hier.